Skip to content

About the Watershed


The Riley Purgatory Bluff Creek Watershed District is a local government with boundaries based on the watersheds of Riley, Purgatory, and Bluff Creeks. It was established on July 31, 1969 by the Minnesota Water Resources Board acting under the authority of the Watershed Law.

  • MANAGERS: Five managers govern the watershed district. Four managers are appointed by the Hennepin County Commissioners and one by the Carver County Commissioners. Each manager serves a three-year term. Governance manual & bylaws.
  • STAFF: The watershed employs seven full-time staff members and contracts with consultants for engineering and legal services.
  • TAC & CAC: The managers are advised by a technical advisory committee (TAC) and a citizens advisory committee (CAC). The TAC includes representatives of cities, counties, state and other agencies. The CAC is comprised of community volunteers who advise the board as representatives of citizen interests.  


When it rains, water that falls on the landscape follows a natural path to a waterbody. This area of land is the body’s watershed. Anything that happens within a watershed impacts the lake, creek, wetland, pond, or aquifer it feeds. Watershed districts are charged with protecting and improving our communities’ water resources. Districts partner with local communities to identify top priorities and plan, implement, and manage efforts which protect and improve local water resources. They educate and engage residents, and the work they undertake benefits the quality and quantity of water in local as well as downstream watersheds and communities.

The RPBCWD celebrated 50 years in 2019. Learn more about our history.


The Watershed Management Plan is a document that guides all of the watershed district’s actions over a decade. It highlights how the district will monitor local water quality, the projects it will do, and how it will engage its community.

Explore the 2018 plan


David Ziegler, Eden Prairie (President)
Term expires: July 2025

Larry Koch, Chanhassen (Vice-president)
Term expires: July 2024

Dorothy Pedersen, Shorewood (Secretary)
Term expires: July 2023

Jill Crafton, Bloomington (Treasurer)
Term expires: July 2024

Tom Duevel, Minnetonka
Term expires: July 2025


Full Staff.jpeg 

Jeffery.pngTerry Jeffery
District Administrator & Watershed Planning Mgr
952-607-6512 | Ext 1
Email Terry

Bakkum.pngAmy Bakkum
Office Administrator
952-607-6512 | Ext 3
Email Amy

Dickhausen.pngZach Dickhausen
Natural Resources Cooridnator
952-607-6512 | Ext 7
Email Zach

Forbes.pngLiz Forbes
Communications Manager
952-607-6512 | Ext 5
Email Liz

Mahon.pngEleanor Mahon
Education & Outreach Coordinator
952-607-6512 | Ext 6
Email Eleanor

Maxwell.pngJosh Maxwell
Water Resources Coordinator
952-607-6512 | Ext 4
Email Josh

Nicklay.pngMat Nicklay
Natural Resources Technician
952-607-6512 | Ext 2
Email Mat


Engineering Advisor

Scott Sobiech (Barr Engineering)
4700 West 77th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55345

Legal Advisor

Smith Partners PLLP 
250 Marquette Ave S, Suite 250
Minneapolis, MN 55401
612-344-1400 phone
612-344-1550 fax


Staff Liaison

Terry Jeffery 
Watershed Planning Manager

Committee members

Steve Christopher 
Board of Water & Soil Resources

Matt Lindon
Citizen Advisor

Paul Moline
Carver County

Mike Wanous
Carver County Soil & Water Conservation District

Bryan Gruidl
City of Bloomington

Joe Seidl
City of Chanhassen

Matt Clark
City of Chaska

Robert Bean Jr.
City of Deephaven

Dave Modrow
City of Eden Prairie

Sara Schweigert
City of Minnetonka

Robert Bean Jr/Andrew Budde
City of Shorewood

Karen Gallas
Hennepin County

Linda Loomis
Lower Minnesota River Watershed District

Joe Mulcahy
Metropolitan Council

Wes Pearce-Saunders/Taylor Huinker
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
US Army Corps of Engineers


More information about the Citizen Advisory Committee, including mintues from the Citizen Advisory Committee's regular meetings can be found here.

Staff Liaison

Terry Jeffery
Interim District Administrator

Liz Forbes
Grant Program Coordinator

Eleanor Mahon
Education & Outreach Coordinator
Email Eleanor

CAC Contact Email

Committee members

Andrew Aller
CAC Chair

Jim Boettcher
CAC Vice Chair

Rodey Batiza

Marilynn Torkelson

Heidi Groven

Kim Behrens

Michelle Frost

Pete Iverson

Terry Jorgensen

Sharon McCotter

Jan Neville

Jeff Weiss

Jessica Wiley


The District is not currently accepting applications. Stay tuned for future opportunities.